Plastic waste free islands – Mediterranean

Demonstrating solutions to reduce plastic pollution leakage from 2 Mediterranean islands.

Theme(s)
Duration3 years (2019-2021)
Locations2 Mediterranean islands, Europe
ActionMake a significant and quantified reduction in plastic waste generation and leakage for two Mediterranean islands.
Partners
  • International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Background

Over 10 million tons of plastic waste enters the ocean every year. Many efforts on minimizing and mitigating impacts of plastic waste are focused on tackling the sources on continental land, rivers and coastal areas. To date, not much attention has been put on plastic waste leakage from island.

Response Strategy

The purpose of this project is to demonstrate effective, quantifiable solutions for addressing plastic leakage from islands. Key stakeholders from governments, private sector and civil society, as well as local men and women, united in a vibrant learning and leadership network, will co-generate and demonstrate demand-responsive solutions to plastic waste which incorporate policy and, business operations. This will not only support the reduction of waste generation on the islands but will use and re-purpose waste into commercially viable products for sale, thereby generating job opportunities and income.

Evidence and lessons learnt from this project and the Plastic Waste Free Islands – Caribbean and Pacific – will be packaged into a scalable ‘blueprint for islands’ for use beyond the initial two targeted islands. Key regional bodies will be equipped with the plastic footprint and supported to identify further opportunities to grow its application.

Action

The first step will consist in the careful selection of 2 Mediterranean islands according to precise criteria such as population size, tourism sector relevance, fishing industry, strong commitment towards the issue of the government, civil society and the private sector and demonstrating a strong case to serve as Islands Blueprint

Working closely with the chosen stakeholders in each sector, the project will create a collective framework for action and a timeline for implementation, encouraging synergies between the three sectors and encouraging them to work collaboratively to devise and implement practical solutions.

The project will stimulate the creation of commercially viable products/solutions developed from recovered plastic in fishery and tourism sectors.

Once the island blueprint is developed, it will be disseminated through regional bodies and international sector stakeholders (e.g. tourism operators, regional-scale fisheries or international waste management providers) for replication and ripple effect.

Expected results
  • Improved knowledge of waste generation among 2 target islands and policy recommendations to reduce plastic waste generation and enhance disposal.
  • Enhanced adoption of plastic leakage reduction measures by tourism, fisheries and waste management sectors and value chain development.
  • Development of Plastic Waste Free Island blueprint and endorsement by regional bodies (the “Objectives”).
© iucn-bAljinovic | Mljet
Partners

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a membership Union uniquely composed of both government and civil society organizations. It provides public, private and non-governmental organizations with the knowledge and tools that enable human progress, economic development and nature conservation to take place together.
Created in 1948, IUCN has evolved into the world’s largest and most diverse environmental network. It harnesses the experience, resources and reach of its 1,300 Member organizations and the input of some 13,000 experts. IUCN is the global authority on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it. Our experts are organized into six commissions dedicated to species survival, environmental law, protected areas, social and economic policy, ecosystem management, and education and communication.

Explore

Des iles sans plastique en Méditerranée

Tester des solutions pour réduire la pollution plastique dans 2 iles de Méditerranée.

Thématique(s)
Durée3 ans (2019-2021)
Géographie2 iles en Méditerranée, Europe
Partenaires
  • Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN)
Fonds d’attribution
Contexte

Plus de 10 millions de tonnes de déchets plastiques sont déversés dans les océans chaque année. Les principaux efforts entrepris pour réduire et atténuer l’impact de cette pollution cible essentiellement les sources en provenance des continents, des rivières et des zones côtières. A date, très peu d’attention a été accordée aux contaminations plastiques en provenance des iles.

Stratégie d'intervention

L’objectif du projet est d’identifier des solutions, quantifiables et pérennes pour répondre efficacement au problème de la pollution plastique marine émanant des Iles de Méditerranée. Il est prévu de mobiliser sur deux îles toutes les partie-prenantes ayant un rôle clef au sein du gouvernement, du secteur privé et de la société civile, ainsi que les habitants, en vue de créer une force de proposition capable de cocréer et mettre en place des solutions politiquement et économiquement viables et adaptées au contexte local en matière de lutte contre la pollution plastique. Ce projet envisage non seulement d’encourager à la réduction des déchets plastiques sur les iles, mais ambitionne également de les recycler et de les valoriser via la confection de produits commercialisables novateurs, créant de ce fait des opportunités d’emplois et de revenus.

Les leçons et bonnes pratiques mises en évidence par ce projet et son jumeau « Plastic Waste Free Islands – Caribbean and Pacific » seront synthétisées dans un document de référence. Son usage dépassera les projets-pilotes initiaux et sera destiné à une diffusion large et un passage à l’échelle des solutions identifiées.

Les instances régionales disposeront d’outils de mesure de leur empreinte plastique et seront accompagnées dans l’utilisation de ce diagnostic et l’identification d’opportunités d’actions en découlant.

Action

La première étape consistera à sélectionner avec soin deux iles de Méditerranée. Cette sélection répondra à des critères précis tels que la taille de la population, la présence du secteur touristique, de l’industrie de la pêche, le degré d’engagement du gouvernement local, de la société civile et du secteur privé envers ce défi, le tout devant démontrer le fort potentiel de l’ile pour servir de site expérimental et tester le développement d’un projet pilote de lutte contre la pollution plastique insulaire.

En étroite collaboration avec les parties-prenantes de chaque secteur, le projet établira un plan d’action collectif avec un calendrier de mise en œuvre, encourageant les synergies entre les 3 secteurs (publique, privé et civil) les incitant à travailler de concert pour la conception et la mise en place de solutions concrètes.

Le projet stimulera la création de solutions / produits commercialisables issus de la réutilisation du plastique émanant du secteur touristique et des pêcheries.

Ce guide insulaire prescripteur de bonnes pratiques – Plastic Waste Free Island blueprint- sera disséminé au travers d’organismes régionaux et d’acteurs internationaux clef du secteur (industrie touristique, pêcheries, entreprises spécialistes de la gestion des déchets) pour une diffusion large et effet multiplicateur au niveau international.

Résultats attendus
  • Compréhension accrue de la provenance des déchets au sein des 2 iles ciblées et recommandations en matière de politique de réduction de pollution plastique et amélioration de leur traitement.
  • Les secteurs du tourisme, de la pêche et du traitement de déchets et leurs chaines de valeurs adoptent des mesures visant à réduire les contaminations plastiques.
  • Le guide pour l’action – Plastic Waste Free Island Blueprint – est largement diffusé et rencontre l’approbation et l’adhésion des organismes régionaux.
© iucn-bAljinovic | Mljet
Partenaires

L’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) est une union de Membres composée de gouvernements et d’organisations de la société civile. Elle offre aux organisations publiques, privées et non-gouvernementales les connaissances et les outils nécessaires pour que le progrès humain, le développement économique et la conservation de la nature se réalisent en harmonie.
Créée en 1948, l’UICN s’est agrandie au fil des ans pour devenir le réseau environnemental le plus important et le plus diversifié au monde. Elle compte avec l’expérience, les ressources et le poids de ses 1300 organisations Membres et les compétences de plus de 13 000 experts. Elle fait aujourd’hui autorité au niveau international sur l’état de la nature et des ressources naturelles dans le monde et sur les mesures pour les préserver.

Découvrir