Improving animal welfare

Working together to support initiatives for improving animal welfare.

Duration3 years (2017-2019)
LocationsFrance
ActionWorking together to support initiatives for animal welfare.
Partners
  • Ensemble pour les animaux
Background

Since the advent of the industrial era, human activity has had devastating consequences for biodiversity and has exacerbated the dominant and exploitative relationship that man has with animals. Today, many voices are being raised in opposition to continued indifference to the suffering imposed on animals, and advocating a paradigm shift that involves treating all living creatures ‘humanely’ and with respect as a fundamental moral principle.

Creating a more responsible and sustainable world, therefore, involves not just recognising the inestimable value of ecosystems and the need to protect them, but also a fundamental shift in the relationship we have with animals and the establishment of animal rights.

Response Strategy

The Ensemble pour les animaux association engages in dialogue with key figures and organisations, and collaborates on projects aimed at improving animal welfare in France, and Europe in general. It operates in a spirit of inclusiveness with the aim of bringing together initiatives that defend animal rights and well-being.

Through public awareness-raising and petition campaigns, the association encourages non-sectarian debate on the place that animals occupy in our societies in terms of nutrition and well-being, and upholds their right to our respect and protection.

Action

Together with its partners, the Ensemble pour les animaux association takes an active role in raising the issue of the bond between humans and animals. It contributes to the development of concrete solutions, which it then brings to the attention of political actors who can bring about positive changes to animal welfare.

Through its website it informs the general public about activities that various organisations active in the sector are engaged in. Through symposia and cultural events it also helps to introduce as many people as possible to the major issues that stem from the relationship between humans and animals, with a particular focus on teaching children about animals and respecting them.

Expected results
  • Concrete progress in the following areas: extinction and loss of biodiversity, improvement of livestock welfare, the creation of ethical labelling relating to animal welfare in the food chain, a ban on animal experiments where there is an alternative, the creation of a ministerial department for animal welfare or independent administrative authority.
  • Better understanding of the animal cause by the general public, improved representation and protection, and inclusion on the political agenda.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© G.M for Ensemble pour les animaux | Conference organised by EPLA at the French National Assembly - 28 june 2018
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© G.M for Ensemble pour les animaux | Conference organised by EPLA at the French National Assembly - 28 june 2018
Partners
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

Created by philosopher Frédéric Lenoir, the aim of the Ensemble pour les animaux association is to educate and raise awareness to animal welfare, bring together animal rights organisations and individuals to engage in urgent battles to advance their cause, and speak out for decisive public action for the protection of animals.

Explore

Améliorer la condition animale

Fédérer et soutenir les initiatives visant à améliorer la condition animale.

Durée3 ans (2017 - 2019)
GéographieFrance
Partenaires
  • Ensemble pour les animaux
Fonds d’attribution
Contexte

Depuis l’avènement de l’ère industrielle, les activités humaines ont eu des conséquences destructrices sur la biodiversité et ont aussi conduit à exacerber le rapport de domination et d’exploitation que l’Homme entretient avec les animaux. Aujourd’hui, de nombreuses voix s’élèvent pour ne plus rester indifférents aux souffrances qu’on leur impose et préconisent un changement de paradigme en posant comme principe moral de respecter et de traiter avec ’humanité’ l’ensemble des êtres vivants.

Penser un monde plus responsable et durable passe alors non seulement par une prise en compte de la valeur inestimable des écosystèmes et la nécessité de leur protection, mais également par une refondation du lien qui nous unit avec les animaux et l’élaboration de leur droits.

Stratégie d’intervention

L’association « Ensemble pour les Animaux » dialogue avec des personnalités et des organisations compétentes tout en collaborant à des projets qui visent à l’amélioration de la condition animale en France et en Europe. Elle agit dans un esprit de rassemblement et ambitionne de fédérer les initiatives qui luttent pour la défense des animaux et leur bien-être.

Par des opérations de sensibilisation de l’opinion et de plaidoyer auprès des pouvoirs publics, elle invite au débat de manière non sectaire sur la place des animaux dans nos sociétés, tant dans le domaine de la santé, de l’alimentation, que du droit, afin qu’ils soient respectés et protégés.

Action

Avec ses partenaires, l’association « Ensemble pour les Animaux » participe activement à la réflexion sur le lien qui unit l’homme aux animaux. Elle contribue à l’élaboration de solutions concrètes qu’elle porte à la connaissance des acteurs politiques pour faire évoluer positivement la condition animale.

Via son site internet et les réseaux sociaux, elle informe le grand public sur les actions des différentes organisations actives dans le secteur. Par le biais de colloques ou de manifestations culturelles, elle concoure aussi à initier le plus grand nombre aux grands enjeux découlant de la relation de l’être humain à l’animal et porte une attention particulière à l’éducation des enfants au respect et à la connaissance des animaux.

Résultats attendus
  • Des avancées concrètes sont obtenues dans les thématiques suivantes : extinction et perte de la biodiversité, amélioration du bien-être des animaux d’élevage, création d’un label éthique du bien-être animal dans la chaine alimentaire, interdiction des expérimentations sur les animaux lorsqu’il existe des solutions alternatives, création d’un secrétariat d’Etat à la condition animale ou une autorité administrative indépendante.
  • La cause animale est mieux connue du grand public, mieux représentée, défendue et s’inscrit dans l’agenda politique.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© G.M pour Ensemble pour les animaux | Colloque organisé par EPLA à l’assemblée nationale le 28 juin 2018
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© G.M pour Ensemble pour les animaux | Colloque organisé par EPLA à l’assemblée nationale le 28 juin 2018
Partenaires
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

Créée par le philosophe Frédéric Lenoir, l’association Ensemble pour les animaux entend éduquer et sensibiliser à la condition animale, fédérer des personnalités et associations qui défendent les animaux autour de combats urgents à mener pour faire avancer leur cause, et l'aider pour une action publique ambitieuse de protection des animaux.

Découvrir